Universidad de Alicante
Departamento de Lenguajes y Sistemas Informáticos

Accesibilidad Web


Migas de pan

Estás en: Accesibilidad web > WCAG 2.2 > Diferencias WCAG 2.1 - WCAG 2.2 (en inglés)

Diferencias WCAG 2.1 - WCAG 2.2 (en inglés)

Comparison with WCAG 2.1:

WCAG 2.2 was initiated with the goal to continue the work of WCAG 2.1: Improving accessibility guidance for three major groups: users with cognitive or learning disabilities, users with low vision, and users with disabilities on mobile devices. Many ways to meet these needs were proposed and evaluated, and a set of these were refined by the Working Group. Structural requirements inherited from WCAG 2.0, clarity and impact of proposals, and timeline led to the final set of success criteria included in this version. The Working Group considers that WCAG 2.2 incrementally advances web content accessibility guidance for all these areas, but underscores that not all user needs are met by these guidelines.

WCAG 2.2 builds on and is backwards compatible with WCAG 2.1, meaning web pages that conform to WCAG 2.2 are at least as accessible as pages that conform to WCAG 2.1. Requirements have been added that build on 2.1 and 2.0. WCAG 2.2 has removed one success criterion, 4.1.1 Parsing. Authors that are required by policy to conform with WCAG 2.0 or 2.1 will be able to update content to WCAG 2.2, but may need to continue to test and report 4.1.1. Authors following more than one version of the guidelines should be aware of the following additions.

New Features in WCAG 2.2

WCAG 2.2 extends WCAG 2.1 by adding new success criteria, definitions to support them, and guidelines to organize the additions. This additive approach helps to make it clear that sites which conform to WCAG 2.2 also conform to WCAG 2.1. The Accessibility Guidelines Working Group recommends that sites adopt WCAG 2.2 as their new conformance target, even if formal obligations mention previous versions, to provide improved accessibility and to anticipate future policy changes.

The following Success Criteria are new in WCAG 2.2:

The new success criteria may reference new terms that have also been added to the glossary and form part of the normative requirements of the success criteria.

WCAG 2.2 also introduces new sections detailing aspects of the specification which may impact privacy and security.

Numbering in WCAG 2.2

In order to avoid confusion for implementers for whom backwards compatibility to WCAG 2 versions is important, new success criteria in WCAG 2.2 have been appended to the end of the set of success criteria within their guideline. This avoids the need to change the section number of success criteria from WCAG 2, which would be caused by inserting new success criteria between existing success criteria in the guideline, but it means success criteria in each guideline are no longer grouped by conformance level. The order of success criteria within each guideline does not imply information about conformance level; only the conformance level indicator (A / AA / AAA) on the success criterion itself indicates this. The WCAG 2.2 Quick Reference will provide a way to view success criteria grouped by conformance level, along with many other filter and sort options.

Conformance to WCAG 2.2

WCAG 2.2 uses the same conformance model as WCAG 2.0. It is intended that sites that conform to WCAG 2.2 also conform to WCAG 2.0 and WCAG 2.1, which means they meet the requirements of any policies that reference WCAG 2.0 or WCAG 2.1, while also better meeting the needs of users on the current Web.

Más información:

Estándares, licencia y contacto